Hot cross buns with white chocolate, orange peel and walnuts

 

20140416-134926.jpg

I was conflicted whether to a) attempt a home made hot cross bun and b) deviate from the traditional recipe.

Some things in life are perfect as they are like the hot cross bun. I’m a purist and prefer the fruit filled buns but I am not adverse to chocolate. That said, I do love a challenge and increasing my baking skills.

I’ve never seen a white chocolate hot cross bun before, and I’ve noticed that orange peel seems to be the secondary fruit (the understudy). It’s about time that both white chocolate and orange makes its way to be the star of the hot cross bun – well my version anyway. I decided to add walnuts to the party purely because I had some left over from a salad I made earlier in the day.

As you can see, it’s not bad for a first attempt. They were a bit denser than a regular hot cross bun but the flavours work well. The most important thing is that they were popular in the office and they were all eaten.

One thought on “Hot cross buns with white chocolate, orange peel and walnuts

Leave a Reply

