Easter egg truffles – white chocolate with a peanut butter ‘yolk’

I’m about to say something very controversial – I hate easter egg chocolate. It doesn’t taste the same as real chocolate, for me, there is something plastic tasting about it. Hollow eggs are a waste of time and I find easter chocolates overpriced. So I needed to take matters into my own hands. This is…

ImageImage

I’m about to say something very controversial – I hate easter egg chocolate.

It doesn’t taste the same as real chocolate, for me, there is something plastic tasting about it. Hollow eggs are a waste of time and I find easter chocolates overpriced.

So I needed to take matters into my own hands.

This is a tribute to the Heston Blumenthal with his visually pleasing and mind-boggling desserts. This is a white chocolate truffle with a peanut butter truffle ‘yolk’ filling. I rolled the egg shaped truffles in shredded coconut to finish.

As you can see by the pictures – they look very egg like. Taste wise, white chocolate and peanut butter always go well together, with the coconut finish makes these truffles rich yet refreshing.

Responses to “Easter egg truffles – white chocolate with a peanut butter ‘yolk’”

  1. thehungrymum

    yes! Cheap chocolate is the worst. The Easter Bunny brings Misses 6 & 8 a Lindt bunny & a book – no cheapy choc here. These look amazing.

    Like

  2. the eternal traveller

    These look delicious. Last year I made these http://www.raspberricupcakes.com/2012/04/cheesecake-filled-chocolate-easter-eggs.html and they were very popular and didn’t last long.

    Like

    1. tinman’s treats

      thanks for the tip – i ended up making them. not as sexy as the ones on her blog but a more ‘realistic’ outcome 😉 https://tinmanstreats.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/easter-eggs-filled-with-lemon-cheesecake-and-passionfruit-yolk/

      Like

      1. the eternal traveller

        Aren’t they delicious. I didn’t make her passionfruit curd, but used my own lemon curd recipe. Today I saw this link on Facebook – perfect for presenting them too. http://networkedblogs.com/W2MLp

        I’m making them for Sunday dinner.

        Like

Leave a comment